The Loose Meat Sandwich King of Hamtramck

Tony Kordyban is hugely famous in a tiny engineering circle for his book Hot Air Rises and Heat Sinks: Everything You Know About Cooling Electronics Is Wrong.

I’m in that circle and can count the number of authors on 1 finger who write fun engineering prose.

So, I was excited to find that Tony had stepped up to non-technical literature. TLMSKOH is a surprisingly meaty and satisfying book. It definitely feels like Tony has pulled in many autobiographical elements and stories… I really had no idea what to expect, but was left with a pleasant, warm feeling in the final pages.

There are laughs, surprises, dark human truths, and redemptive releases. I especially like (without giving too much away) the revelation that your pit of despair may actually turn out to be a just a few inches deep.

Loose Meat follows a middle aged, out of work, Mechanical Engineer’s desperate move from Chicago back to his hometown near Detroit. Though he hasn’t been back in decades, everyone in the town seems to know and love him. Even strangers. Little hints keep popping up that something’s hinky back in Hamtramck.

That’s about all I’m willing to divulge about the story. Just read and fully enjoy it for yourself. I will say that my blog readers will likely cotton to the book because we get to see some brief references to FEA software and fluid dynamics. This is, however, by no means a technical book like Hot Air Rises. Those elements are just normal, background, character building colors. Still, I can’t think of another fiction book that would have mentioned them!

Great stuff, Tony. Can’t wait to read your next!

One comment

  1. […] Links from the show: http://www.tonykordyban.com My review: The Loose Meat Sandwich King […]