Podcasts for the road warrior

As the holidays draw near, I imagine lots of little iPod boxes are getting wrapped. I only got my first iPod for Christmas last year… how’s that for being behind the times? I have to say, it has become my most indispensable gadget. Maybe I’m not as discerning as some tech gurus out there, but I also happen to love the simplicity of iTunes.

I now have about an hour drive from my home in Rhode Island to SpaceClaim HQ in Concord, MA. Turns out, I’m actually enjoying the ride thanks to my iPod! The selection of free podcasts on iTunes is astounding. At any given time, I’m subscribed to about 30 shows. I listen to them until I get bored, and then give ’em the boot to go discover something new.

If Santa is bringing you into the Apple family this year, congrats!
Here are my current top 10 podcasts to get you started:

  1. Wall Street Journal This Morning (easily my favorite)
  2. Dave Ramsey
  3. Stuff you missed in history class (found this by accident… wow!)
  4. Joel Osteen
  5. TedTalks
  6. NPR Fresh Air
  7. PRI’s The World: Technology
  8. Saddleback Church: DriveTime Devotionals
  9. 60 Minutes Podcast
    (takes far less than 60 minutes w/ no commercials!)
  10. Buzz Report

4 comments

  1. Ron Keeley · ·

    You should probably also check out Leo Laporte’s TWIT (This Week In Tech). I love it! Gotta love TedTalks as well. I’ll have to check out some of your other ones.

    Since you like web 2.0, you might like Tech Crunch. And for more podcasts, perhaps http://www.crunchgear.com/2009/03/11/recap-crunchgear-live-podcast/

  2. Ron Keeley · ·

    You should probably also check out Leo Laporte’s TWIT (This Week In Tech). I love it! Gotta love TedTalks as well. I’ll have to check out some of your other ones.

    Since you like web 2.0, you might like Tech Crunch. And for more podcasts, perhaps http://www.crunchgear.com/2009/03/11/recap-crunchgear-live-podcast/

  3. Jeff Waters · ·

    Thanks Ron, I’ll check it out!

  4. Jeff Waters · ·

    Thanks Ron, I’ll check it out!