Twitter is worth a look

My friend Derrek Cooper has exposed me to more than a few of the latest greatest tech tools in this modern, web 2.0 world. I became a huge believer in Skype and have moved quite a bit of my world into the clouds.

I drew the line at Twitter, though. Firstly, because the name sounds distinctly unmanly. Secondly, because I thought it was just a bunch of kids IMing the fact that they just ate a sandwich or lost a favorite XBOX game.

After enough high praise from Derrek, I gave it a try. The jury is still out for me, but I like what I see initially. Twitter is a great way to get plugged into like minded industry folks to whom you’d otherwise not have much access.

If you like CAD & CAE, Josh Mings does a much better job of explaining the benefits here: 90+ SolidWorks and 3D CAD Users to Follow on Twitter

4 comments

  1. Man Jeff, thanks for plugging the Twitter list! It’s definitely a great place to stay in touch, promote biz and learn a lot from other colleagues! Thanks again.

  2. Man Jeff, thanks for plugging the Twitter list! It’s definitely a great place to stay in touch, promote biz and learn a lot from other colleagues! Thanks again.

  3. Update:
    I gave Twitter a good shot for about 2 months. While I definitely picked up some good tips and got to know some of the personalities in our industry a little better, I just couldn’t hang with it. It sort of sucks you in and the next thing you know you are Twitter-Fiend constantly checking for you next fix.

    Having said all that, I still recommend people try it for themselves before making a call. There are too many people out there in total love with Twitter for it to NOT have value for some people.

    It’s kinda like pro-wrestling for me. I don’t get it. I don’t like it. But, obviously it’s great for a lot of people out there.

    -Jeff Waters

  4. Update:
    I gave Twitter a good shot for about 2 months. While I definitely picked up some good tips and got to know some of the personalities in our industry a little better, I just couldn’t hang with it. It sort of sucks you in and the next thing you know you are Twitter-Fiend constantly checking for you next fix.

    Having said all that, I still recommend people try it for themselves before making a call. There are too many people out there in total love with Twitter for it to NOT have value for some people.

    It’s kinda like pro-wrestling for me. I don’t get it. I don’t like it. But, obviously it’s great for a lot of people out there.

    -Jeff Waters