The numbers side of a CAE software investment

Here’s a great article from Matt Peick in Desktop Engineering. Using a planned purchase of an FEA software tool and training for 2 engineers, Matt lays out a nice matrix of costs and benefits spread over the first 12 months.

Read Evaluate Your Software Investment here.

I agree with Matt’s method from a numbers perspective. And, I’ve personally seen this kind of analysis used to justify the purchase of CAE software a bazillion times.

Unfortunately, these numbers rarely drive the real decision to invest in CAE software. Worse, they do not take real-world implementation facts into account.

Read my next article: The human side of a CAE software investment

I’ll break down the worst and best case rollout process for a new CAE software tool. With a couple of simple illustrations, I’ll show how your actual ROI swings wildly depending on the quality and timing of implementation.

