Open Pandora’s music box

image

 

 

I’ve been focused on my annual strategizing and planning for the last couple weeks. That entails a fair amount of pouring over plans, customer details, upcoming travel, targets, forecasts, goals, etc. I basically just lock myself in the office and focus.

I found a great little music service that has served as the background noise for this year’s effort. It’s called Pandora and is completely free and legal. It also has no DJs or commercials… just your favorite kinds of music.

Apparently, these folks have mapped out the music genome much like the geneticists working on the human genome project. You simply type in a favorite artist or song and Pandora will build you a custom radio station featuring songs from all artists that fit that branch of the music family tree. 

I’ve been enjoying my custom Merle-Haggard-ish channel this evening. Maybe tomorrow I’ll be in the mood for Coldplay, Sting, or Rusted Root.

Check it out here: www.pandora.com

6 comments

  1. I found this a few weeks ago. Very, very cool. I love that you can “customize” what is played.

  2. I found this a few weeks ago. Very, very cool. I love that you can “customize” what is played.

  3. Ron Keeley · ·

    Yep – fantastic service. I use it on my iPhone, along with AOL Radio and Public Radio (NPR). All good!

  4. Jeff Waters · ·

    Now, that would be cool. I’m on a Blackberry, so not sure that would work for me.

    Also, I’ve since found another service http://www.last.fm and alternate between the two. If I notice too many repeats, I’ll switch over to the other service for awhile. Rinse, repeat.

  5. Jeff Waters · ·

    Now, that would be cool. I’m on a Blackberry, so not sure that would work for me.

    Also, I’ve since found another service http://www.last.fm and alternate between the two. If I notice too many repeats, I’ll switch over to the other service for awhile. Rinse, repeat.

  6. Ron Keeley · ·

    Yep – fantastic service. I use it on my iPhone, along with AOL Radio and Public Radio (NPR). All good!