Logitech V270 mouse: road warrior excellence

logitech_v270 Who knew I’d have a strong opinion on mice? After a decade of constant business travel, I’m always on the lookout for bits of tech to make life on the road easier.

For a long time, I kept one of those tiny “walnut” mice in my laptop bag to conserve space. I also liked the idea of having that extra “travel” mouse so I couldn’t scamper to catch a plane and forget it.

The walnut mouse presented 3 new problems, though. First, it was super tiny and actually caused some pain in my hand after extended use. What a sissy! Second, it had a completely different action than my full-size office mouse. Third, it hooked to my laptop with a USB cable. Anytime I can eliminate a cable from the tangle in my travel bag, I get excited. I like to arrive at a customer meeting, pop open my laptop, and just get ‘r done. Futzing around with a bunch of cables before and after is distracting.

I went through several travel mice before discovering this one. Take my word for it, just buy it. It’s sized just right: not quite walnut, but certainly not as big as your current desk mouse. I actually keep one in my bag and another at my desk. Same mouse, no matter where I am.

My favorite qualities:

  • not too small, not too big
  • light
  • very sturdy, takes a road beating
  • 2 double A batteries provide long, long life
  • LED low battery warning light
  • on/off switch on bottom
  • Bluetooth, wireless laptop connection
  • no crazy buttons, just what I want: left button, right button, scroll wheel
  • You can see it here at Amazon… can you believe 226 other people felt compelled to review a mouse?

    6 comments

    1. […] Bloggeron – quality over quantity wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt [IMG logitech_v270] Who knew I’d have a strong opinion on mice? After a decade of constant business travel, I’m always on the lookout for bits of tech to make life on the road easier. For a long time, I kept one of those tiny “walnut” mice in my laptop bag to conserve space. I also liked the idea of having that extra “travel” mouse so I couldn’t scamper to catch a plane and forget it. The walnut mouse presented 2 new problems, though. First, it was super tiny and actually caused some pain in […]

    2. hey.. music to my ears. I have tried a ton of mice and haven’t been happy with any. Rolling with a dell “corded” mouse right now. Pretty embarrassing and the cord is a nightmare. Just picked up the v270, I’ll let you now how it goes. Thanks!

    3. hey.. music to my ears. I have tried a ton of mice and haven’t been happy with any. Rolling with a dell “corded” mouse right now. Pretty embarrassing and the cord is a nightmare. Just picked up the v270, I’ll let you now how it goes. Thanks!

    4. Jeff Waters · ·

      One quick note to everyone: THIS IS A BLUETOOTH MOUSE.

      That means you’ll need bluetooth capability in your PC to use it. You could get a cheap bluetooth transmitter USB “dongle”, but I think that kinda defeats the purpose. Might as well use a regular mouse with a retractable USB cord at that point.

      Make sure your laptop has a built in Blue Tooth receiver.

    5. Jeff Waters · ·

      One quick note to everyone: THIS IS A BLUETOOTH MOUSE.That means you'll need bluetooth capability in your PC to use it. You could get a cheap bluetooth transmitter USB “dongle”, but I think that kinda defeats the purpose. Might as well use a regular mouse with a retractable USB cord at that point.Make sure your laptop has a built in Blue Tooth receiver.

    6. […] have a good bluetooth travel mouse that maybe needs its double A’s replaced once every 6 months. If it were once a week, […]